India Travelogue, Ep. 15:

fullsizerender

After yesterday’s rant about clean air, I just wanted to share a lighthearted photo today.

These are my friends Vandana and Rama. They grew up in India but moved to the states after college. Both are accomplished scientists whose families contribute so much to our small community. I’ve been their friends for five years and I cannot tell you how much they’ve enriched my life. New culture, new foods, new faith traditions, and new perspectives have all come my way because of their friendship.

They are the reason I traveled to India last month. Without their planning, their encouragement, their guidance, and their patience, I never would have contemplated a trip to a locale so far outside my knowledge and comfort zone. That they agreed to take four American women who’d never traveled to India on a two-week trip says a great deal about their spirit of adventure and fortitude (and, frankly, their denial of our frailties, neuroses and demands).

This photo was taken late in our trip (in Karala) as they introduced us to the delight of fresh coconut water. Tomorrow, I’ll tell you about that. Today, I just want to say friendship is one of the greatest blessings of my life. Trips come and go but friends are for life (if you do it right).

Leave a Reply

