A king-sized makeover.

Dear friends,

photo[4]

Last week I made a quick business trip to St. Louis and, while I was there, I picked up a few things for Kate’s room. The results are shown in the Instagram photo above.

Maybe it’s just me, but I think there’s nothing that perks up a bedroom quite like new bedding. In addition to buying a white seersucker duvet, I purchased a bright paisley quilt, some new throw pillows, and three fun art canvasses, which we hung over her bed and then strung with twinkly lights.Ā  All the items came from Target.

Kate had no idea I was planning a makeover and she was thrilled with the results.

Can I just say that’s something I absolutely LOVE about my daughter? She and I share similar tastes in home decor, fashion and jewelry, so I often shop spontaneously for her. I’m not sure if I always hit the mark, or she shares my commitment to gratitude and accepts my gifts graciously. Either way, it’s nice to have a daughter who doesn’t seem to have a picky bone in her body.

Why the sudden urge to re-make her bed? Well — it’s not so sudden. When we moved two years ago, she inherited the king-size bed from our guest bedroom. Because we were moving from a four-bedroom home to a three-bedroom home, we chose to discard her full-size bed rather than the spare king-size bed. Since she was leaving for college after a year, it made more sense to keep a bigger bed in her room for the occasional guest. The only problem was that by inheriting the bed, she also inherited the bedding, which neither of us really liked that much but which we made do.

I’ve been window shopping for bedding ever since — but just never pulled the trigger. Last week, I was so happy to have her home for the summer that I broke down and loaded up during a quick dash into Target. Besides, Target has great prices and the re-do met my affordability threshhold.

I think the bright oranges, yellows and pinks look terrific with her turquoise walls. And you can imagine how blank the wall above her bed looked before we hung the art. In the words of my favorite philosopher, popularly known as the Dude, the art “really tied the room together.”

If you’re interested in a closer look at some of the items, you can find the duvet here, a version of the Love pillow here, the quilt here, and the three canvasses here and here and here.

I’m delighted that Kate has a summer oasis to call her own with a true college-coed vibe, instead of the stuffy, old-lady vibe created by our former guest-room castoffs.

With gratitude {for a quick-fix and the opportunity to spread some love to my favorite college girl},

Joan, who bought the Eiffel Tower canvas because she studied French in college and still dreams of aller a Paris un beau jour

Comments

  1. Love the whole look! It is so fun shopping for bedding. Sometimes I wish I had more beds! lol

  2. Pretty! And so nice that your daughter and you share the same taste. Oddly, our post today is about how my daughter and I teamed up to do a dining-room makeover. Must be in the air! šŸ™‚
    K.

  3. I am a total sucker for a paisley. Also love the warm colors against the cool wall. Thanks for showing by example you don’t have to have a zillion dollar budget to pull off a great looking room.

    PS: I have a little (OK a lot) non-pickiness envy of your Kate…my daughter’s taste is so particular I’d never dare get major elements for her room without her input. I can often find a surprise tsotchke to add but a big re-do? I wouldn’t dare.

  4. This is so lovely! The colors are gorgeous!

  5. Speaking of “aller a Paris un beau jour,” I took the chunnel there a year ago today for my first visit. I did not study French in college, so the waiters hated me….

  6. I love an affordable make over! It’s so sweet that you and Kate have similar tastes. My mom taught me about style and decorating but we don’t necessarily have the same taste. We do enjoy thrift/antique shopping together for treasures and bargains though. But she’s not allowed to buy me clothes or jewelry (I’m finicky).

Leave a Reply

