When life hands you snow . . . think spring!

Dear friends,

It’s been snowing endlessly ’round my place.

snow

The temps have been frigid for weeks and, just when the sun comes out and we think we might warm up (where warm equals anything above 40 degrees), the arctic air sweeps back in and brings snow or sleet with it.  Today’s snowstorm is the just the latest in what has been a long winter.

I took a couple of days of vacation to bookend my weekend and celebrate spring break, only my break is decidedly un spring-like.

So as the snow piled up Sunday, I did what any pajama-clad, home-bound vacationer would do: I cooked and crafted.

Earlier today I made biscuits and gravy, bacon, and Pioneer Woman’s eggs in hashbrown nests. Right now I’m waiting on the short ribs in my oven to finish braising so I can smother a big dish of polenta with fork tender ribs and their gravy-of-goodness.

In the mean time, I’ve been re-styling my buffet and mirror from a Valentine’s vortex to an Easter epiphany. Here’s a wreath I made after seeing a similar one on Pinterest.

wreath_Snapseed

It took all of 15 minutes to make. It’s just a Styrofoam wreath wrapped with “eyelash” yarn. The flowers are cut from lace trim and held on with pearl-tipped pins. It makes me long for a lush lawn and the opportunity to romp barefoot with the dogs.

In addition to this wreath, I added some paper lanterns, some Easter egg garland, and a S-P-R-I-N-G banner I made from a bit of leftover burlap, rickrack and twine. Here’s an artsy-fartsy photo of all that (where artsy-fartsy equals a Snapseed edit on my iPhone because I’m so lazy these days I hardly ever get out the Nikon).

springinal

The snow’s really piled up now so I think I’ll adjourn for supper. I hear those short ribs calling my name.

shortribs_Snapseed

With gratitude {for any excuse to stay home and putter},

Joan, who wonders what spring projects you’re preparing to tackle

Comments

  1. I needed to read this today! New Jersey has had minimal snow, but lots and lots of cold weather this season. And now there is a call for snow tomorrow…March 24th! I am gonna follow your advice and craft and cook!

  2. Wish I had been as productive .. Breakfast trek thorough the snow to IHOP, sledding with the kids, roasted mash mellows in the fireplace, watched Jurassic park, and snugged with a cup of hot chocolate.. For dinner we made flat bread pizzas. Really wish I’d made your wreath. Love it! The evening ended with a SNOW day announcement. So today we dying eggs and sledding. Happy Spring! 😉

  3. texasdeb says:

    Just lovely and how much more satisfying knowing they are your own creations rather than something brought in from a store. (Um, if there are leftovers from those ribs let me know – I’ll get started heading your way immediately if not sooner).

  4. Old Man Winter is especially grumpy this year. I hope he lumbers off to hibernate in his bear lair soon. I had an Easter party for the six little girls across the street on Saturday morning. I pulled out all my scary rabbit flea market finds and created a peculiar tablescape. I think you would have been proud (although my Easter treasure trove is prone to channeling Tim Burton…).

  5. That’s funny, because we’ve had next to no snow. Which means I’ve been able to move dozens of wheelbarrow loads of dirty straw from the barn to smother weeds around the blackberries and grapes.

    Not nearly as much fun as making a crafty banner. Though I’m so not crafty that I would rather muck the barn out than mess around with rickrack.

Trackbacks

  1. […] You know what other summery thing I did? Before we hit the road, I made an adorable red-white-and-blue pennant banner. It will be Memorial Day before you know it and I’ll be itching to remake my Easter-decked buffet. […]

Leave a Reply

