Life-changing, lip-smacking, fist-pounding good!

Dear friends,

I’ve been known to exaggerate now and again. I have. But today I’m not.

Today, I’m just going to tell you about the best mashed potatoes in the world. Potatoes so good, they’ll change your life.

I know, it’s hard to believe potatoes will change your life. But maybe you were like me — making mashed potatoes any old way. Maybe you peeled your potatoes and maybe you didn’t. (I’m lazy. I didn’t.) Maybe you mashed them with an old-fashioned metal masher and added some butter and some milk. (I’m sure it wasn’t enough of either, and if you were like me, you added both straight from the frig.) Maybe you added cream cheese or sour cream, or maybe like Pioneer Woman, after adding cheese, you put the potatoes in a baking dish and reheated them.

Well, I’m here to tell you — you were misguided. Tragically.

And so was I until I got my hands on Mark Peel’s “New Classic Family Dinners” and learned how professional chefs make mashed potatoes. And, lawzie, there’s a difference. A considerable difference in the preparation and a magnificent difference in the result.

If you’re like me and good enough is not good enough when it comes to food, try these potatoes. Even if you only do it once, at least you’ll die knowing what honest-to-goodness real mashed potatoes are supposed to taste like.

Like buttah. Like velvet. Like buttery velvet with a hint of garlic, a whisper of salt, and a creamy goodness that will make you wonder why most of the world has no clue how to make everyone’s favorite comfort food.

Like everything else in the world, perfection requires an investment. You’ll need a steamer, a ricer, a medium- to large-weave strainer (buy a cheap one, it will have a larger weave than an expensive one), and a double-boiler to prepare these potatoes. If you don’t have these items, pick them up. They are versatile pieces of kitchen equipment that will come in handy more often than you know.

Mark Peel’s Mashed Potatoes

2 lbs peeled potatoes cut into large chunks (I prefer Yukon Gold)

2-3 large cloves of garlic, whole and peeled

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

3 sticks butter

Salt to taste

Place potatoes in a steamer pot with the whole garlic and as little water as necessary, then steam until fork-tender. Meanwhile, put 2 sticks of butter and all the cream in a small saucepan over low heat until simmering. When potatoes are tender, drain and discard garlic. Working in small batches, put the cooked potatoes through a ricer into a large bowl. I like to put both parts of my steamer pot side-by side in the sink as I rice the potatoes. (The potatoes will be in the steamer basket, while the bottom part of the pot should be drained of its water and used to catch the potatoes as they are put through the ricer.)

When all the potatoes have been put through the ricer, mix the potatoes with the simmering cream and butter mixture and salt to taste (for me, about a teaspoon and a half). Use a rubber spatula to make sure it’s thoroughly mixed.  You might be tempted to stop here because the potatoes will be fairly smooth and creamy, but don’t.

Trust me.

Next, put a strainer over a clean bowl and again, working in small batches, put the mashed potatoes through the sieve.

This part takes some real muscle and it’s where the magic happens. Hold the sieve in your left hand (assuming you’re right handed) and use your right hand to firmly push the potatoes through the sieve. Don’t be inpatient because it takes time. And strength. And most of the potatoes won’t fall into the bowl — they’ll stick to the back of your sieve. But keep pressing and pushing until there are no more potatoes in the concave side of the sieve — then flip it over and scrape the potatoes off the convex side of the sieve into the bowl.

At this point, the potatoes can be covered and set aside as you prepare the rest of your meal. Or you can refrigerate them. When it’s time to reheat them, put them in a double boiler with the last stick of butter (cut into tablespoon-sized pieces), cover with a lid, and heat until the butter is melted and the potatoes are warm. Stir occasionally to mix in the butter.

In the words of the chef:

“We chefs lie about our mashed potatoes. We don’t tell you we’ve used 1 1/2 pounds of cream and butter with 1 3/4 pounds of potatoes. You don’t need to know. Mashed potatoes are one of the very simple dishes that require some work and technique. The results when you do them right is spectacular. You will never again need to bring anything else to a potluck. Cream, butter and a good sieve are essential, and so is a double-boiler for heating them. This will create some extra dirty dishes and take more time than other methods, but do it this way anyhow.”

The chef’s “spectacular” is an understatement. Perfect in texture, taste and consistency is a better description. They are silky beyond the powers of my description. They are glistening. They are ultra potato-y. I could eat a plate of these potatoes with nothing else and be perfectly fat and happy.

By the way, this recipe will easily feed six. If you’ve got leftovers, simply refrigerate them and reheat the potatoes in the double-boiler. Or, alternately, you can spoon them onto a baking sheet in patty-sized servings. Use your spoon to creates peaks on your potato-patties, then put the baking sheet in a 425-degree oven and reheat until the peaks of the patties are toasted. Carefully serve each potato-patty by lifting it from the baking sheet to the plate with a large spatula.

I served my mashed potatoes with an old-fashioned meatloaf and buttered peas. It was a Sunday supper for three on a simple but lovely table . . .

which is the only dose of comfort this mother needs.

With gratitude {for culinary secrets that make my heart go pitter-pat and my boys very happy},

Joan, who hasn’t made “regular” mashed potatoes once since she discovered this recipe six months ago

Comments

  1. Good Lord, you love your family a lot. I don’t think I’ve ever gone to so much trouble to mash potatoes for a special dinner, much less for every night dining. I do heat my butter and cream and I do use a lot of both. But that second strainer step? No, ma’am, I can honestly say I have never. Ever. Now the question is, will I? Mmmmmm – the visuals about have me convinced. Don’t think I have ever been quite so wistful my computer screen isn’t a portal into the photos. (Almost as good looking as your potatoes? Those zinnias! Gorgeous.)

  2. I know. I was highly skeptical myself, but I decided I must try the technique at least once. And now I realize I’m never going back.

    I forgot to mention the cookbook says you can also use your food processor instead of the ricer. I hate cleaning my food processor more than anything, so I prefer the ricer. Plus, my processor is small so I’d still be working in batches. But if yours is large and could hold 2 lbs of potatoes, that’s probably the way to go.

  3. How about instead of me making these, I’ll just come over next time you make them?

  4. I’m with Sizzle. Let me know when she’s coming over and I’ll help you guys eat dem taters.

  5. Maladjusted Mel says:

    I don’t know what a “ricer” is …
    I don’t know what a double boiler is, but I have, at least, heard of one …
    Ranking right up there with many a necessary tool that I have seen at countless baby showers that I don’t know what they do either …
    Sigh …
    However, I do LOVE mashed potatoes and especially Yukon Gold. I may have to take a stab at this …

    • Hey Mel — that’s why I put live links in my post to sources for each of the aforementioned implements. Simply click on “ricer” in my post and you’ll be taken to an online retailer for one.

      Or you can skip on down the street to any big-box retailer and find all of these items, including K-Mart, where I purchased one of my two sieves.

      Please, please report back if you give this a try. I just want somebody, anybody to taste the perfection I have tasted and concur that these potatoes outshine all others.

  6. I so love mash potato. My daughter love this too.

  7. I’m a “good enough” cook, so I probably will never make these. The MiL, however, is willing to do any number of ridiculously laborious and complicated preparations at least once, so I’m betting I can convince her to try this. I’ll let you know if she does.

  8. Kristin — I’ve told you a number of times your MiL is a kindred spirit. I can think of no better description of me than “willing to do any number of ridiculously laborious and complicated preparations at least once.” Bravo MiL!

Trackbacks

  1. […] moving on to the prep work for a variety of dishes to compliment a roast pork loin and the world’s best mashed potatoes. The dessert — which I’ll make first thing in the morning — is Chocolate Mousse […]

Leave a Reply

