Rainy days and Fridays.

Dear friends,

The view from my kitchen window.

I woke up to pouring rain this morning. We are in the midst of a long and severe drought, so it is a welcome, blessed relief. Over the last two months, we’ve had nothing more than a sprinkle or two, but today it’s a gullywasher. We’ve lost more than a couple trees and shrubs on our acreage, so I imagine the plants that have managed to hang on are soaking it up as fast as they can. Mr. Mom and I feel as if we are one with our little patch of ground, its undulating meadow, its meandering creek, its tall stand of trees that is home to turkeys and deer and squirrels and rabbits and birds of many feathers, and together, we are grateful.

I’m off work today, so a rainy day thrills me even more. I love to putter around the house in inclement weather. I’ve got plans to finish a project a two, maybe catch up on my ironing, cook something wonderful but simple for supper, and pack.

Mr. Mom, Parker and I are taking advantage of the long weekend to travel to Oklahoma and visit Kate. She can’t come home until Thanksgiving because of her tennis schedule and you know what they say — if Mohammad can’t come to the mountain . . .

If her coach doesn’t mind, we hope to sit in on a practice session. I’ve been glued to the television this week watching the US Open, but who needs Serena Williams if I can watch my CupKate and her team whack the cover off the tennis ball?

I wish all of you a lovely holiday weekend, filled with rain if you need it, or sunshine if it suits you better.

With gratitude {for nature’s timing, which often is everything},

Joan, who’d love to hear how you’ll be spending your holiday weekend

The rain began again. It fell heavily, easily, with no meaning or intention but the fulfillment of its own nature, which was to fall and fall.
— Helen Garner

Comments

  1. I’ve got such weather envy. Our drought is not as bad this year as last, but that is such a low bar to clear it is hard to be appreciative, much less actively grateful.

    That said, our only college student this go-round is living at home currently, so we are at least spared the potential snafus of travel for any of our merry little band. Those of us not working will gather and enjoy each other’s company. For that, I am very grateful indeed.

  2. Gentle rain all day in the Ozarks. Bliss pretty much describes it. Kind of nice that this astonishing reprieve from our summer scorching fell on my bday. BEST GIFT EVER. Enjoy your weekend with the Tennis Player.

Leave a Reply

