A buck a smile.

Dear friends,

I spent most of yesterday either standing in line (enrollment lines, housing lines, financial aid lines, you know the drill), or driving in line (who knew interstate traffic could be so busy on a Tuesday?).

But one of the lines I stood in — at the college bookstore — took me right past a bargain bin.  And just look at what I carried out for one measly dollar:

The Holy Grail.

The Holy Grail.

If you’re a foodie, you know who Thomas Keller is. If you don’t know him (but love food), you need to. I’ve coveted this cookbook for a while now, but never plopped down the $30 to buy it because my shelves are full.

But a buck? You gotta be kidding me! It’s almost like the college enrollment gods were smiling upon this road-weary mother about to lose her first-born to adulthood and craving comfort of any sort.

Guess what I’m cooking this weekend?

Buttermilk Fried Chicken by Thomas Keller.

I know. It’s going to bust my clean-living diet all to hell. But Ad hoc’s Buttermilk Fried Chicken is a mountain I must climb, so be it. I’m also going to climb the Leek Bread Pudding mountain, and the Peperonata Rustica mountain, and the Pineapple Upside Down Cake mountain.  That’s a  lot of climbing for Saturday, but I think I’m up to it.

Wish me luck. (And a one-day, unlimited-calorie, free pass.)

With gratitude {for the $1 admission price to culinary heaven},

Joan, who figures, if nothing else, she’s got 90 days to cook herself into her daughter’s memory and encourage her to come home pretty please once in a while

Comments

  1. texasdeb says:

    Oh the joys of a college bookstore. And the bargain bin. In combination? Magic. You were right to reward yourself (it was a karmic gift, clearly) and you are solidly in the company of angels any time you prepare home fried chicken to help remind a young heart where the taste(s) of home are to be found. Cook on, Momma!

  2. Please write a book so I can buy and read it. You have such a talent.

  3. I had a Thomas Keller moment once at Bouchon in Yountville. Then Bouchon came to LA but I never had a recurrence.

Trackbacks

  1. […] I might have mentioned I’m cooking four Thomas Keller recipes on […]

Leave a Reply

