We all scream for ice cream.

Dear friends,

You know what made me really happy yesterday?

Seeing this on my supper table.

After eating the comfort meal of all comfort meals (Panera’s Mac & Cheese, Pioneer Woman’s BBQ Meatballs, and buttered broccoli), we topped it off with Soda Fountain Ice Cream Pie. A concoction of fresh strawberries, vanilla ice cream, malted milk balls, crushed sugar cones, and whipped cream, it was the perfect desert for cuddling up in front of the Oscars.

If you’d like to make your own, you can click here for the recipe.

With gratitude {for ice cream done-up yummy and the best seat in the house on Oscar night},

Joan, who agrees with Alec Baldwin’s Tweet: You can’t argue when Meryl Streep’s name comes out of the envelope

Comments

  1. Oh my goodness, how do you and your family all not carry around 25 extra pounds? What a delightful and delicious sounding meal featuring a dressed up dessert apropos for viewing glamorous award ceremonies.

    It is easy to get caught up in waistline worries and thereby underestimate the positive powers of a sweet ending to any meal. I am currently lumbering along with a nasty head cold, but for the duration of dessert last night? During those few yummy bites I was not an achy cranky runny-nosed tissue dependent viral brewery but rather a woman savoring every single morsel of a cream filled chocolate glazed pastry. (Since apparently my dessert choice predicted the French run at the Oscars – next year I’m getting in on a pool!)

  2. Deb, I am the only one in my family who struggles to watch my weight. Parker is 6’6″ and weighs 190 — he can’t eat fast enough to keep up with his growing. Mr. Mom was like that for years, but now that he’s pushing 50, he’s finally a normal weight. Kate is playing so much tennis she has no problem, plus she has always eaten like a bird anyway. Me? I try to manage it with running, but I’ve picked up a few pounds since we moved and I haven’t been running the long distances. Fortunately, desert is not my nemesis. I typically eat one very small slice of whatever I bake, then leave the rest for the kids.

  3. Are you sure everyone at your house isn’t 300lbs? And if you’re not, I would like to say how unfair the world is. Written by one who has been sugar (sort of free) for one year. And is not happy about it.
    Dana

Leave a Reply

