When $65 meets perfection.

Dear Friends,

I was a woman on a mission Friday.

Turns out, I live in a town that celebrates St. Patrick’s Day in a big way, where big equals a tradition that spans more than a century and involves painting the streets green and hanging out with thousands of people who don’t live in our town but show up for the party and the parade and the beer. (Sounds a bit like a Midwestern Mardi Gras, huh?)

It also turns out that I am expected to be at a fancy party celebrating this amazing St. Pat’s tradition.

And it also turns out that the women who attend this fancy party wear green dresses.

I learned these details — about the party and the required attire — on Friday morning. And, as I am not one to let grass grow under my feet, by Friday afternoon I had a plan to secure said dress, because you never know when 49 days will not be enough time to plan the perfect party outfit.

Which is why Kate and I hit the road and drove 200 miles round trip to the nearest Nordstrom’s, where $65 got me this:

Source: Nordstrom’s, Available here

I don’t need to say much more, do I? My St. Pat’s dress is perfect, made more so by the fact that it was on sale, that I found it within three minutes of searching “green dress” on the Nordstrom’s web site, that the store nearest me (where near equals not very) had one in my size, and that it fit perfectly. I dare say me and my St. Pat’s dress are a match made in heaven, which I know pleases our town’s adopted Patron Saint very much.

With gratitude {for Friday fashion jaunts with my favorite daughter who not only chauffeurs but also accompanies me to dinner at a chi-chi Italian restaurant},

Joan, who thinks her green eyes are the perfect accessory any lass can have on St. Pat’s but also bought gold sparkly sandals to charm the leprechauns

Comments

  1. Ah, darlin’ now, isn’t she?! Tis surely a bit of good fortune indeed to be finding such a gloriously green gown for your festivities. May all your stews be served pipin’ hot, and your soda bread always have plenty o’ butter!

    Ooof. My family tells me – assuring me they have only my best interests at heart – that I should never try accents. They may have a point….. Really gorgeous dress and clever of you not to wait to find one. The gold sparkly sandals sound just right – maybe some amazing chandelier earrings to accent your eyes and that neckline?

  2. Sandy Shoes says:

    Bea-U-ti-Ful!

  3. Gorgeous dress! Can I tell you how jealous I am that you live within 100 miles of a Nordstroms? It is the one thing I’ve been pining for ever since I moved away from the West Coast.

Leave a Reply

