The Unaquilter strikes twice!

Dear friends,

zebra

I’m not sure why I’ve been blogging so infrequently lately. Part of it is an exceptionally busy time at work combined with a revved-up workout schedule, but part of it is that I’ve been trying to catch up on backlogged quilts.

I finished two of my languishing projects last week. Both are for baby girls due later this spring so I really needed to get going. One quilt was for a colleague and features the most adorable and whimsical animal print ever. I had so much fun stitching up this quilt that I would have been tempted to keep it for myself had it not been crib sized.

Here’s another view of the adorable Cori Dantini fabric line.

giraffe2

The second quilt features a lone, framed star on front and an impressionist floral on back. It was an improv design with mix-and-match fabrics including a couple of pink prints left over from my Cori Dantini stash.

brittquilt.jpg_large

For some reason, this quilt gave me fits and I spent two nights ripping out row after row after row of stitches after discovering multiple puckers on the back. Ugh.

On the bright side (literally), my favorite part of this quilt was the white-on-white floral fabric with simple white quilting.

whiteonwhite

This quilt is for a friend of my CupKate’s. I’ve known B since she and Kate met in Kindergarten. I don’t know where the time went and I can’t believe I’m already creating wedding and baby gifts for my oldest child’s friends.

Still, I had so much fun I bought another star pattern — aptly titled Swoon — that I’ve been eying for months.  And I’ve got just the girl in mind for it.

Once I cross a few more projects off my to-quilt list, that is.

With gratitude {for a busy but productive spring},

The Unaquilter, aka The Magpie, who wants to come back in her next life as a Cori Dantini-illustrated magpie

Comments

  1. Totes adorb, as the kids would say. These are some happy sweet fabrics you are working with and what a treat that the circumstances of the giftings are some of life’s most wondrous rites of passage. Quilt on, lady.

  2. Lovely quilts. I am going to imagine the starlings buzzing my birdfeeder as Cori Dantini-illustrated (and ditto for my dog in need of a bath). That should improve those visuals!

  3. your quilt is AMAZING!!! thank you for making wonderful (in such a modern way). OOx, cori

  4. Beautiful work, I’ve been imagining this squared star. By chance is there a pattern available? Just happened to find your blog! Will follow, love your artsy designs!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 778 other followers

