One sizzling quilt.

Dear friends,

Can you believe that I recently completed quilt #16?

Granted, three are baby quilts and two are mini-quilts, but still. In some 38 weeks, I have made SIXTEEN quilts. It’s kind of amazing and kind of crazy. (Okay, lots of crazy.)

Yesterday, I put away my sewing machine after quilting all day Saturday. I needed a break and I was a getting a little unnerved by how much the center of my home resembled the floor of a garment factory.

Besides, I’ve decided to start sewing elsewhere. Eventually, I plan to take over Kate’s room. Next fall, she will be leasing an off-campus apartment in her college town, and I think the days of her needing a bedroom here for extended periods are over. I’d be sad, but I’m cheered at the prospect of a dedicated sewing space.

Until then, I’ve decided to start sewing in my bedroom. It offers far more space than Mr. Mom and I really need and has a huge window, in front of which I plan to locate the new desk/sewing table I’ve ordered. At least when I make a mess in my bedroom, I can simply shut the door and I’ll still have clean a table for family dinners.

In any case, this is an awfully long preface for what I really wanted to tell you — which is quilt #16 is a real sizzler. I absolutely adore it. See what you think:

sizzlecu

I made it as a surprise for someone many of my readers will recognize: the author of the “Sizzle Says” blog. If you read her blog, too, you already know Sizzle had a tough 2013. A quilt seemed like just the thing to send her a little cheer.

I wish I could say it was my idea, but it wasn’t. Regular reader and friend Maridel sent me an email in early December recruiting me as her partner in crime. She paid for the materials and I contributed the labor. Together, we shipped it off to Sizzle on Jan. 6  with wishes for health and happiness in the new year.

I’ve only seen a few photos of Sizzle’s home, so I had to guess that modern fabrics and design with a mix of soft and bold colors would fit in. Here’s the quilt in full:

sizzlequilt

Sizzle tweeted that “thank you doesn’t seem like enough for the beautiful quilt handmade by my friend.”

I assured her that thank you is always enough.

Trust me. I’m a bit of an expert.

With gratitude {for friends in need and friends in deed},

Joan, who’s headed to Florida next week for a business trip and expects she’ll take a little sewing hiatus until February

Comments

  1. Honored to have been your accomplice on this one, although all I had to do was sit in the bleachers and cheer.

  2. Beautiful quilt and it was awesome of you to give of yourself to comfort a friend. Take some warm clothes to Florida. We about froze to death last week and they said it was even colder the week before.

  3. Aww – Sizzle did have a pretty crappy 2013 – a quilt from you to start off 2014 is just the ticket! You and M’del make a great team.

    Cindy is right – watch the weather forecast for Florida. Last time I was there in January it went from chilly to freezing and back. Ooof and brrr!

  4. I absolutely love it! I am so touched by your and Maridel’s thoughtfulness. I’ve admired your quilts and am honored to have one in my home. Thank you for it, your kindness, and support. Xo

  5. Maladjusted Mel says:

    Beautiful, Joan. Way to cheer from the bleachers, Mdel!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

