Just in time for the Super Bowl!

Dear friends,

buffalolettucewraps

Ever since we made Buffalo Wings for our non-traditional Christmas dinner, I’ve been craving them. Problem is, they’re a pain to make (all that deep frying!) and not particularly healthy in big doses. I’ve noticed a wave of “buffalo” style recipes lately and I decided lettuce wraps would be a healthier alternative. Unfortunately, I didn’t like any of the recipes I found.

So I made my own. It’s perfect, and I mean that most sincerely. And , hey, just in time for the Super Bowl!

You can thank me on Feb. 3.

Joan’s Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps

1 head of iceberg lettuce, carefully torn into large leafs

3 stalks celery, split lengthwise and sliced thinly

1 large tomato, chopped

3 medium carrots, peeled and cut into sticks

1 rotisserie chicken, skin and meat removed

6 TBLS butter

1/4 to 1/2 cup Frank’s Hot Sauce, depending on taste

2 oz blue cheese, crumbled

Bottled blue cheese dressing (or make your own using this fabulous recipe)

Remove meat from rotisserie chicken and chop or shred. Discard skin.  Discard carcass or use to make broth. Combine chicken, butter and Frank’s hot sauce and heat in microwave until butter is melted, about 1.5 minutes. Mix well and taste. Add more hot sauce if desired.

Serve all ingredients salad-bar style. You can make wraps or layer the ingredients tostada-style over large lettuce leafs. Serve carrot sticks on the side. This recipe served 2 adults and 2 teenagers in our family.

With gratitude {for healthier, easier recipe alternatives, just in time for a Super-Duper eating day},

Joan, who loves her some Buffalo wings but doesn’t like the heartburn that accompanies a multi-wing indulgence

PS: this dish goes especially well with Anheuser Busch Shock Top Belgian White beer, especially the 6% version sold in Missouri

Comments

  1. Guys! I made the best dip with the leftovers of this recipe.
    We had about 3/4 cup of chicken left; about 1/2 cup each of tomatoes and celery, and maybe 2 TBLS of blue cheese. I mixed it all together with about 6 oz of cream cheese and spread it in a small baking dish. I topped with shredded cheddar and baked at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.
    Parker had two friends over and the five of us inhaled it with tortilla chips in less than 10 minutes. Next time I make this recipe, I’m making extra so I can make dip with the leftovers.

  2. That looks really good just as a salad! I probably would make some homemade blue cheese dressing and love the idea of serving everything salad bar-style! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 777 other followers

