Packages near and far.

Dear friends,

bdaygift

Last week the Unaquilter mailed two packages and received two packages. I swear I didn’t begin my quilt odyssey for the benefit of return favors, but this time it worked out that way.

One package was from my mini-quilt secret swap partner and came all the way from Australia. What a surprise!

The second and favorite package came from longtime friend (and regular reader) Maridel, who sent me some beautiful fabric and a pincushion for my birthday. Isn’t it the most perfect gift you’ve ever seen? I plan to spend today stitching up quilted coasters as holiday gifts for co-workers, so Maridel’s timing is perfect, too.

By the way, one of my packages found its home last week (while another is still in transit), meaning I can finally show you one of my latest creations. It’s a sock monkey quilt made for a young girl who ADORES sock monkey. Take a look at the quilt and the girl.

rachelcollage

rachel

Her name is Rachel and her father is a friend and former colleague. They live back home so I never see them anymore, but Rachel appears occasionally in my Facebook feed, sometimes with her beloved sock monkey in tow. When I tripped across the sock monkey fabric line while shopping recently, I realized I knew one young girl who would likely find the fabric as charming as I did. I just couldn’t resist.

With gratitude {for the surprise symmetry of brown paper packages},

Joan, who’s got two more big quilting projects on tap for December and January and won’t mind a bit if continued wintry weather facilitates quiet evenings holed up sewing

Comments

  1. Cute sock monkey quilt-I love it ( and it looks like the recipient does too).

  2. Photos don’t do justice to the awesomeness of the sock monkey quilt. It even warmed my coal-black heart. Thank you, again. It has been Rachel’s constant companion since receiving it.

  3. I recognize that little girl wrapped in sock monkey smiles. And her father does NOT have a coal-black heart despite what he says — I would call it more ink-on-grisaille…. Delighted you like the bday mementos. I collect flea market fabric remnants for my sister, as you know, but that one said, “Send me to the Magpie!”

  4. love the color combo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

