The double bonus.

Dear friends,

Remember that lovely surprise I told you about yesterday? I can’t wait to show it to you!

After spending my entire Friday wandering hither and yon and returning late in the evening, I found this waiting for me in the kitchen:

surprise

There’s almost nothing that makes my heart go pitter-patter like tableware, especially that of the Jadite variety.

I opened the card to find a note from Kate saying that she and Parker and Mr. Mom stumbled across this bowl and thought I’d like it. “Just trying to repay you,” Kate wrote, “for all the nice surprises you randomly bring home for us.”

Mothers do nice things for their children because it’s in their DNA. To delight my family delights me, so it’s a win-win. That they are thoughtful enough to want to return the favor is a double bonus that makes me melt.

And isn’t my new bowl a perfect place to gather my stitched pears?

newbowl

Between the thrill of a new sewing machine and a thoughtful affirmation that my three favorite people adore me, I’m wallowing in bliss this weekend. And if I have to wallow, I can’t think of a better place.

With gratitude {for my three sweethearts, emphasis on the sweet},

Joan, who’d love to hear about a random act of kindness that made you swoon

Comments

  1. Those pears look perfect on their Jadeite throne. My sister will be thrilled to see them in situ.

  2. Those pears are dreamy surrounded by jadeite. I’m totally with you – love the color and everything it represents. Have you seen the anniversary blue pint-sized ball jars out for only this year? I keep thinking I NEED me some, only I really already have too many jars. But that blue! It makes me a little weak in the knees…

  3. It’s beautiful! And so thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 767 other followers

