Summer snap.

Dear friends,

summer

Summer has snapped ’round my house.

How do I know? Every change of season and arriving holiday announces itself via the mirror above my buffet. The latest bedecking involves twinkly lights (but of course), some printed burlap ribbon, a red-white-and-blue wreath, a handful of mini-flags, and a pennant banner I made a few weeks ago.  The opening day of Memorial Day weekend seemed like the perfect time for a little redecorating. I’ve got a big supper planned for tonight — beef brisket, coleslaw and baked beans — and I thought we needed to mark the official start of our summer fun with seasonal decor.

By the way, the phrase “summer fun” is used carefully around our house. When Kate and Parker were in grade school — back when their Grannie was still their nanny — I got the notion they were frittering away their summers like lazybugs. So one May I spent hours developing a summer curriculum that involved trips to the library, book reports, chores, and all sorts of forced, Mom-approved activity. I created a tabbed binder with to-do lists, charts and progress reports and insisted my mother, Grannie, implement my regimen. I labeled my big binder of instructions”Kate and Parker’s Summer Fun Plan.”  You can imagine the look on their faces when I unveiled my creation.

You can also imagine how well it went over, with both the kids and their reluctant drill sergeant. Let’s just say no trace remains of the binder and I rarely utter the word “fun” right after the word “summer” lest I be ridiculed out of the room. Ever since then, my approach to summer with my children has been decidedly laissez-faire.

Speaking of laissez, here’s where I plan to do most of it this summer:

deck

This is the easternmost corner of our deck, and it’s the view you see from our living room sofa. Our deck is giant and wraps two sides of our home. We grill near the kitchen door, eat and recline near the dining room windows, and have our coffee here, right outside the living room. Though you can’t see it in this photo, just to the left of this spot is my cutting garden. Since I plant from seed every year (because I’m too lazy and too cheap to buy seedlings), there are no blooms yet. But in another couple of weeks, I’m sure there will be a riot of color to gaze upon from this spot. I can’t wait.

Here’s a shot from last year to tide us over:

newflower

With gratitude {for a long weekend and the urge to enjoy it with nothing more than good food and good company},

Joan, who figures if spring sprung, then summer snapped, although she has no idea why she thinks so, and is generally confused by things like past participles and probably should have avoided  this train of thought

Comments

  1. Summer doesn’t so much snap in Central Texas as it slaps. With the exception of our fairly predictable Memorial Day Weekend flooding rains bringing slightly cooler temps, the HOT/DRY setting on the death star has set up camp already. This is a time of year for us when the term “global warming” gets folks to muttering, crossing themselves and/or throwing salt over shoulders. Warmer summers? Here in Texas we say, No, thank you all the same.

    I remember seeing shots of previous iterations of your cutting gardens in all their glory and also recall the many (many!) gorgeous centerpiece bouquets featured on your Sunday tables so I’m looking forward to seeing what this year’s seeds will bring. Here’s to sitting on decks (or often in my case, porches) savoring morning cups of coffee and occasionally, evening glasses of wine.

  2. I love the ever-changing bunting above your buffet. Reminds me of London a year ago, all decked out in Union Jacks for the Queen’s Silver Jubilee.

  3. Love the decor you put up over the buffet! It’s perfect for summer and 4th of July that is coming up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 643 other followers

