The blue.

Dear friends,

packed

I’m flying into the wild blue yonder today. I’m practically giddy with excitement. I have my camera, sunglasses, a visor, industrial-strength sunscreen, cute summer outfits, and an assortment of sandles. What more could a tennis-spectating mother need for a trip to Phoenix?

Kate sent me a text message as she boarded her flight yesterday: I’m about to get on the plane. Love you.

Like her mother, flying makes Kate nervous. I tend to send messages and make phone calls to loved ones right before and after flights, too. I can’t wait to join her under the big blue Phoenix sky this evening, where we’ll both be happy to stand on terra firma.

Speaking of the blue, I received a hand-written note yesterday from a friend. It was completely unexpected and thanked me for my “advice, counsel, humor, mentorship and friendship for the past seven years.” It mentioned a mutually challenging experience and closed with “When the turkeys get you down — just wanted you to know — someone is in your corner.”

Any day is a good day to receive such a kind affirmation, but I can’t think of a better time than when I’m flying out for an adventure and some much-needed R&R. I don’t anticipate any difficulties but, hey, you never know. I might need bail money.

With gratitude {for May junkets and unexpected greetings from the thoughtful souls who enrich my life},

Joan, who’s lucky indeed to have so many dear friends on speed dial

Comments

  1. Our entire family trends towards the sweaty palms when flying. It it not a distrust of technology – quite the opposite – it is the loss of personal control, handing over so much say-so to strangers, that puts us in a less than nirvanic state. We too tend to call or text each other before boarding and after landings. Heck, we do that when we take long car trips too. I guess we all worry about each other a bit in transit. It is always such happy news to hear our sweeties have arrived safely no matter where they’re headed or how they’ll get there.

    Careful with that sun screen. Too much exposure to the death star in Phoenix can be devastating!

  2. Say hello to a saguaro for me. And GO TEAM!

  3. Unexpected mail is the best. Hope you have a great get away!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 779 other followers

