My current excitement level.

Dear friends,

I’ve had a less-than-lovely April, mostly due to a demanding work schedule, but here’s two things that have happened in the last 24 hours that ratcheted my excitement level way, way up.

CJ_Cregg

Kate has recently gotten interested in the West Wing. I love every single thing about the West Wing, especially CJ Cregg, who I fancy I could be if I tried. Today Kate tweeted that some episodes were “wayy” over her head. To which I suggested that we should spend our summer watching the series together so I could explain the context. To which she agreed. To which my inner political nerd squealed. As if I wasn’t already soooooo ready for summer to be here (it snowed today, for Pete’s sake!), that totally sealed the deal for this television-loving, poly-sci junkie mom.

And, as if that wasn’t enough to amp my excitement meter, Kate’s college tennis team received an at-large bid and #2 seed in the NCAA Division II Women’s Tennis Championship Tournament. Holy smokes that’s cool!

tennis2

Because of their favorable bid, they play their first match at home on Saturday. You can bet your left arm I’m making the trip. As a Freshman reserve, Kate is unlikely to get a match, but it matters not to me. I love these girls, I’m a rabid fan of the team, and I’ll be there cheering loudly.

By the way, the winner of Saturday’s match advances to the round of 16 in Phoenix, Arizona on May 8. Have I said holy smokes that’s cool?

So April may have given me a wild ride, but I cannot complain about the destination.

With gratitude {for plenty to look forward to},

Joan, who wishes President Josiah Bartlet was around to save the day

Comments

  1. texasdeb says:

    Ah, that first summer back home with the college sophomore to be. It is an exciting prospect. And to share serialized TV love? Even better. Past that- Best of luck to the team in the tourney. I suppose it would be way too Mom-ish to suggest that after the coaching turmoil they recently experienced that just getting to where they are is a total victory all it’s own? (but it is!). Enjoy, Momma Joan!

  2. Deb — I heard a quote on the Writer’s Almanac this morning: “Half the fun of everything is thinking about it before it happens or afterwards.” How true! And for me and for these two happy developments, it’s certainly the case.

  3. You are definitely CJ Cregg! Wave when you pass by Springfield. If you stop at your favorite meat market, call or text and I will come give you a carnivore high five at the butcher case.

Trackbacks

  1. […] to have her back in my nest for the summer. I hope we’ll make time for all kinds of fun, like watching old episodes of West Wing, going on float trips, participating in our annual girls weekend, making shopping trips to St. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 778 other followers

