A present in a pear bowl.

Dear friends,

Last week was grueling. I worked six straight days that each spanned 12-14 hours, leaving home before anyone else had awakened and arriving home just as my boys were bedding down.

One night I came home and found a package awaiting me on my kitchen desk. Carefully wrapped in brown paper and sent by USPS from my friend Maridel, I had a hunch what it contained. Given my schedule, though, it was yesterday morning before I even had a chance to unwrap it.

It was totally worth the wait . . . A trio of pears to complement my own (featured here), each more lovely than the last. Here’s my favorite:

photo

It’s made from a vintage fabric kitchen calendar. It’s beautiful, and charming, and perfect in a way I never could have imagined before it landed on my counter.

Here’s all of them, in a bowl on my kitchen island as if I might wish to choose one to eat.

photo[1]

I couldn’t be more delighted with my quartet of stitched pears. If you’d like to know more about the artist, just click here.

With gratitude {for gifts from the atelier and from the heart},

Joan, who thinks presents made by hand and sent through the mail are a brand of 0ld-fashioned divine that can’t be matched

Comments

  1. texasdeb says:

    As if the pear(s) weren’t sweet enough all on their own – there is the heart warming friendship with the element of a surprise gift built in. Thanks for sharing it all with us.

  2. I’m glad the produce shipment arrived intact. Thank you for the Fabric Foundry shout out. My sister is still growing pears in her stitchery orchard.

Trackbacks

  1. […] And isn’t my new bowl a perfect place to gather my stitched pears? […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 777 other followers

