She ain’t nothing but a hound dog.

Dear friends,

Meet Lily Pad.

lilysleep

Her name is Lily but, of course, I prefer Lily Pad. (Two-name first names are a big deal in my family in case you don’t remember so she’s getting the VIP treatment.) Parker suggested I call her Lady Lily Pad but I think Her Highness the Duchess of Lily Pad is more distinguished.

I snapped this photo of her in the truck on the way home Sunday. She assumed this position about 10 minutes into our 5-hour drive and slept the entire way home. I loved her the minute I met her in a parking lot on Friday afternoon. But once I saw that wrinkly forehead that is the telltale sign of a hound dog, I swooned and knew she’d always be ours.

Her foster mom told us she is part Labrador Retriever and part Redbone Coonhound. Based on appearance and personality, she seems all hound. She sniffs as if it’s an Olympic sport and she’s a gold medalist. And she’s definitely got the energy and drive of an Olympian. She’s a bit hardheaded but she’s also so very sweet. She’s the first big dog that I’d consider living inside my home — assuming she’s trainable, of course. Right now, she’s a puppy on overdrive and we’re just trying to survive the first month of puppy parenting, which involves crate training and keeping everything you own from being chewed into smithereens.

Ed has been friendly to her (Ed’s friendly to everybody though). Sweetpea has not. In fact, Sweetpea acts as if she wishes Lily Pad would suddenly disappear. Or die. Sushi the cat is terribly worried, as evidenced by a panicked stare and a forehead almost as wrinkly as Lily’s.

Parker is trying to get used to rising early and turning in late so he can walk Lily before school and at bedtime. Mr. Mom is trying to get used to a demanding daycare schedule for what is essentially a highly mobile, diaperless infant with very sharp teeth. (Lordy, lordy I forgot how much work puppies are.) I apparently am in the catbird seat because I don’t have to walk her or train her and I get the pleasure of enjoying her company on my schedule.

And isn’t that a convenient way to have a baby?

With gratitude {for all the good and bighearted folks in the dog rescue world, especially the Oklahoma woman who is responsible for getting Lily to us},

Joan, who wishes to warn you in advance that you will likely tire of Lily photos and stories long before she does

Comments

  1. Welcome, Lily Pad! What a cutie you are!

    Oh, I don’t know about that (tiring of Lily stories)… Perhaps the very easiest way to “have” a baby is to read about somebody else’s.

    Now I’m actively recalling days of sprinkling cayenne pepper on a deck bench that was just the right height to serve as massive chew toy to a lab puppy, years and years ago. That sweet dog is long gone, but the evidence of her presence in our lives is with us still.

  2. We love our hound dog! She is curled up next to me as I type :)

  3. Allison — what kind of hound dog is she? And how old?

  4. Lucky Lily! You ARE in the catbird seat, Joan-Marie (in many ways).

  5. Tera Black says:

    First I’d like to say I laughed so hard reading this and I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of the long stories and pictures. Second of all I’d like to say it was an honor to have meet your family and the love and dedication you are giving lily is more than I could have ever asked for. I wanted to find the perfect family for her but the perfect family found lily and I and for that I am forever grateful. It’s been a pleasure and an honor to have fostered lily and watched her walk away knowing she has an amazing life ahead. Thank you all for everything you’ve done and are doing to make her future as it should be. She is a surviver and that alone will make her a great dog. Again, Thank you all.

  6. Yay for puppy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 776 other followers

