So long sweet summer.

Dear friends,

This is how I spent my last weekend of summer –

Cooking (grilled salmon, pasta, assorted salads, barbequed chicken, baked french toast, biscuits and gravy, green chili enchiladas and more) . . .

baking (apple pie, apple-pineapple crostini) . . .

decorating (tablescapes, new arrangements for the mantle and buffet, flower arranging) . . .

and mothering (big hello and goodbye hugs,  staying up late for long talks, relaxing on the sofa with every person and critter in our household piled on with me, watching movies, passing out money and, of course, all that cooking).

It was three days of bliss I won’t soon forget. I even worked in a couple of naps, some leisurely reading, and lots of the US Open. It was the perfect end to summer, a much-needed respite before the busy fall, a luxury for a homebody who’s called away all too often.

With gratitude {for 72 hours of full-nesting},

Joan, who feels a new sense of energy and says bring on the fall

Comments

  1. It all sounds (and looks!) so lovely. Adore those red bird plates – are they from your stock on hand or new? Such a bright pop of color which is a feast for the eyes before any of that delicious looking food is even taken into consideration. And those zinnias – I do love me some zinnias, didn’t have any in our gardens this year and realized too late what a mistake that was.

    I am deeply happy for all of you – having the ideal LD Weekend. I hope everybody else did all the dishes!

  2. I spent my last weekend of summer with the farm kin in Kansas, taking long walks through milo and soybeans fields, listening to the K State Wildcats pre-game show and soaking up those infinity sunsets.

Trackbacks

  1. […] so her schedule will no doubt be tight. Still, just the opportunity to cook a few of my special “Sunday Suppers” while she’s home will satisfy this hen’s need to fuss over her chicks. Oh, and I hope […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 767 other followers

