Good morning, Sarah!

Dear friends,

I have a friend from back home named Sarah. She’s one of the most adorable 20-something girls you’d ever want to meet and she tweeted this yesterday:

Sarah is the daughter of a woman I went to high school with named Shelli. Shelli’s adorable, too, so it runs in the family. (In fact, back in high school another friend of mine used to say about Shelli: “Isn’t she the most adorable girl ever?”)  Anyway, Sarah has told me before that she likes to start her morning with Debt of Gratitude, and that thought alone makes me happier than you can imagine. Probably happier than Dr. Pepper, m&m’s and my blog make Sarah.

I was not having a stellar day yesterday. It was my first day back at work after returning from Oklahoma and it was jam packed with meetings and other obligations in which I had little interest. Everybody knew I had just returned from taking Kate to college and everybody kept asking me how I was doing.

I smiled. And I said fine. But really . . . I wanted to burst into tears. So when I saw Sarah’s Tweet mid-day, it sure perked up my melancholy little heart.

“I can’t be sad and mopey,” I thought to myself. “I have to go home and write something for Sarah!” I wish I had something more creative, something more profound, something more substantive than “thank you” to offer her (to offer all of you, really), but I don’t.

Still, since this is a blog devoted to gratitude, I can’t exactly argue with an expression of appreciation, no matter how modest.

So thank you, Sarah, from the bottom of my heart for evicting me from Mopeland and back to real life where I count my blessings every day.

With gratitude {for Sarah and all my readers whose daily visits enrich my life},

Joan, who also wants to give a shout-out to Debbie, her first college roomie who made her home-to-college transition so much more bearable all those years ago

PS: While I’m counting my blessings, will you indulge me just a moment? I want to show you some photos I took of Kate at college. She’s in a lovely environment and it gives me comfort to know her world is a pretty, happy place.

Kate outside her new apartment. She’s on the 2nd floor. Hooray for the built-in Stairmaster!

Kate’s bedroom. We both were pleased with the pink-and-black decor and the $20 craigslist desk. Hooray for cheap chic!

Kate and her roommate, Houda. Houda from Casablanca. I love saying that! You know what else I love? Houda is Muslim and speaks Arabic. Hooray for cultural diversity in Kate’s life!

Comments

  1. Many thanks to Sarah for her unsolicited pep tweet. I imagine there are several of us who similarly like to start our day with caffeine and DofG (M&Ms optional). Mopeland is such a dreary place and the traffic is always so awful. I’m happy you’ve been evicted though suspect that action may need to be repeated occasionally. I’m also glad you have (and shared) pics of your fledgling’s new digs. It is always helpful to have a firm picture in your head of where Kate is living (and who she is living with).

    I’m curious. How is Houda pronounced? Howda? Hooda? Casablanca! So very exciting. I can only imagine how Houda’s Mother must feel knowing her little girl is off in another country attending school. If Houda’s Mom only knew how sterling your CupKate is, and what a wonderful family she comes from. I am quite certain it would ease her heart. I know it would ease mine.

  2. Thanks for the photos of Kate’s new world order. I love the bit of Oklahoma sky showing above her dorm.

  3. Thanks for posting this. It certainly brings back memories of the times I said goodbye to my children at university. It wasn’t an easy time and I felt like the Mayor of Mopeville, winning by a landslide, for quite a while. I no longer live there, I’m happy to report : )
    By the way, I love your daughter’s room – really nice decorative touches and the pink/black is amazing!
    Wendy

  4. Must be so hard to walk away from your child . . . sounds like you made it as easy for her as you could, even if it was hard for you. Well done, Mom.

  5. bungalow56 says:

    Those days are the best. So much ahead… seeing your photos of Kate brought me back to my University days. The best ups and downs ever. It’s when you truly figure out who you are. I’m looking forward to many Kate posts since I’m in training and looking for mentorship.

  6. I’m grateful for you!

Trackbacks

  1. […] note in the mail — from a friend who was recently Unaquilted. I’ve told you about Sweet Sarah before. She’s getting married soon and was the surprise recipient of blue quilt featured in […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 777 other followers

