A tip o’ the hat.

Dear friends,

Guess what’s swarming all over Manhattan?

Hats.

Fedoras, Boaters, Panamas, Newsboys, Buckets, Berets, every kind of hat imaginable can be seen on men and women of all ages and all styles across the Big Apple.

If I had a buck for every time I turned to Kate during our trip to New York City and declared “I wish I had a HAT!” I could buy . . . well . . .  a hat.

I adore hats though I rarely wear them, save the occasional ball cap worn while canoeing down the river or a Coach rain hat I bought on deep discount and pull out during inclement weather. I try on hats every chance I get, but something always stops me from making the actual purchase.

Here’s one I’ve owned since Kate was a child.

I wore this hat one time. To Kate’s T-ball game in 1999. As I sat in the stands cheering her on, a small child playing nearby wandered over to me and asked “Why are you wearing that hat?”

“Because it’s hot,” I replied. “And I like it.”

“I don’t,” the young girl said very matter-of-factly before wandering off to write her name in the dirt.

I haven’t worn the hat since, though not because of that child’s withering criticism, but because it doesn’t fit particularly well and tends to fly off my head in the slightest breeze.

I keep vowing to buy and wear a fashionable hat and I keep failing to do so. Somehow I think middle-age women wearing hats in Midwestern small towns are a half-step away from crazy cat ladies in the minds of most people. But in New York . . . man would I have been in style.

For a glimpse of the vast array of hats I spotted during my trip to NYC, take a look at Bill Cunningham’s video essay from the New York Times. Bill’s a marvelous observer of style and I watch his segments often.  And who knows . . . maybe you’ll be inspired to buy a hat and I can live vicariously through you.

Bill Cunningham’s hats, hats and more hats.

With gratitude {for my sweet traveling companion who told me I looked lovely in every single hat I tried on during our trip},

Joan, who’s mustering up the courage to buy and/or wear a fashion hat before 2012 ends

Comments

  1. Oh do I feel you on this one. I own 3 hats, all somewhat practical, considering I live in what is rapidly becoming the “desert” of central Texas. I wear none of them, because every time I put on a hat I feel like I am playing dress-up. I convince myself I don’t look “good in hats”. That I don’t have a “head for hats” (don’t ask me to explain what I mean by that – I have no clue).

    How about you go ahead and get all comfy with the hat wearing and then maybe you can teach some of the rest of us how to put a hat on and not feel obligated to accessorize it with a trick or treat bag?

  2. Maridel says:

    Thank you for sharing Bill Cunningham’s slide show. LOVE THAT MAN. Did you see the documentary on him? I’d say wear your hat with jeans and a white blouse and you will look fabulous.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 779 other followers

