The epidemic.

Dear friends,

One of the most fascinating things about writing a blog is discovering the search terms that cause people to stumble upon my site.

I had no idea when I wrote two posts early on mentioning Tina Fey that nearly every day someone would visit Debt of Gratitude as a result. “Tina Fey” is the number one search term on my site. “Tina Fey wallpaper” is number two. (I can’t explain why anybody is searching for Tina Fey wallpaper. I can, however, explain my interest in both the actress and the wallcovering.)

Lately, though, some odd search terms have popped up. Saturday it was “the epidemic of Mr. Moms.”  Really? There’s an epidemic? Not where we live. Not where we’ve ever lived. In fact, in all our married life, we’ve only known one other couple with a stay-at-home dad. And don’t get me started on my reaction to comparing a parenting choice to a disease.

Then yesterday, a search for “places to make pottery in Massachusetts” led a reader to me. I’ve written about places. And pottery. And Massachusetts. But not all three in the same post. I bet the reader was really disappointed in what I had to offer.

However, somebody else also stumbled across my site yesterday as a result of a search for “freckles.” I mentioned Kate’s freckles recently in a post about her prom photos and, who knows, maybe that reader got just what he/she was looking for.

You know what NOBODY searches for? Gratitude. Appreciation. Gratefulness. Thankfulness.

If there’s an epidemic happening out there, I’d say it’s a dearth of gratitude — which, as you know by now, is EXACTLY why I started this site and what I attempt to focus on — no matter how weakly or obliquely — every day.

So, yeah, it’s ironic that the very thing nobody searches for is exactly what I have to offer.

I’m going to keep beating my drum anyway. You never know when gratitude is going to trend.

And then, baby, I’m the number one Google search result. I can feel it.

With gratitude {for mysterious algorithms that bring readers searching for “highschool black shoes for girls” to my humble site},

Joan, who appreciates every single reader, every single day

Comments

  1. Well that is life in a nutshell some days isn’t it? Everybody always seems to be searching for everything BUT what you have on offer. Personally I’m grateful for every single post, search terms aside, because there were days I didn’t know what I needed, but I knew I’d find something good right here. And I did. And I do.

  2. I’m grateful for your blog…

  3. I don’t comment much but read every blog post. I appreciate your posts. They usually make me ponder my own moods, decisions and life choices. That is a good thing.

  4. Hmm… people search for hope, for salvation, for love, for acceptance, for a lot of things. I think that they find gratitude within themselves. Until Google adds a “know thyself” app, your blog may never show up on a “gratitude” search.

    In the meantime, I’m thankful to have you in my life.

  5. Thank you, friends, for the sweet words. And Buffy, as always, you are right on!

  6. sarahsmith8000 says:

    I read every blog. I’m thankful you post links on Facebook so I know when you’ve been at it again. We can all use a little more gratitude in our lives.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 767 other followers

