A bit o’ Irish cheer.

Dear friends,

My St. Pat’s Day started early, ended late, and was chock full of Irish cheer.

I can’t remember the last time I saw so many people having a great time. Or wearing so much green. Even the animals were decked out.

I was jealous of this outfit. Next year I will plan better.

And I’m not sure what it takes to get an invitation to the roof party, but I intend to find out. Talk about a primo spot for the parade route.

Not long after I snapped this photo, the best street-side spots filled up. Six city blocks were packed like sardines.

Glad I’m not claustrophobic.

The more crowded it got, the more fun folks seemed to have. Check out this group:

There were floats galore. Two hours worth, actually. And lots of marchers. I haven’t a clue what these parade participants represent, do you?

A gorilla, a green-haired guy, Mario (?) and a gun-toting camo girl riding on a tatooed man — all splattered in blood. It made my brain hurt trying to ponder it all. I’m not that deep.

This guy was billed as one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. Clearly, they have cold beer in hell.

This one . . . I’m not sure. Three Humpmen of the Armageddon?

I had the most fun watching the spectators. There were plenty of sights to behold.

There’s nothing like a parade in a college town.  Something about the influence of carefree youth makes you want to kick up your heels and embrace the blarney, at least for one day.

With gratitude {for the opportunity to enjoy the best minor-holiday celebration ever},

Joan, who thinks she and Mr. Mom accessorized really well for the St. Pat’s gala

Comments

  1. texasdeb says:

    Around here it was a quiet celebration with only the splitting of a lone cold beer (green cap but otherwise normal) while waiting on the corned beef, cabbage and potatoes to be plated. We also all wore a bit o’ the green. Eventually. We have a long family history of taking full advantage of any chance to legitimately pinch around here. So after a round of actual pinching, some serious pinch threats being made, and one quick trip back to a closet, we all proudly sported the color o’ the day.

    (That is another great bracelet you are wearing in the last photo. Fun!)

  2. Don Hill says:

    I say those folks know how to party. D&H

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 778 other followers

