Joan-Marie and the wonderful, beautiful, no bad, very good day.

Dear friends,

Leap Day was one kickin’ day around my parts.

It was sunny, it was 64, and holy schmoley it was the most perfect not-spring day. Like one of those days when you have to squint, even indoors, because everything in your orbit is incredibly brilliant.

And, hey . . . remember that dress, that cute little number I bought in Florida?  I figured I wouldn’t be able to wear it until April, but today’s weather was so gorgeous my kicky spring dress made its first appearance in February. Check it out:

I normally avoid all photos involving my figure, but my dress made me so happy today I just had to snap a photo of it on my way out the door this morning. I’m a lumpy, dumpy middle-aged woman, but that dress made me feel good, inside and outside. And at my age, you gotta celebrate those moments when you get them.

And if feeling good wasn’t enough, I got to have lunch with my birthday friend and several other new friends. We told stories and laughed so hard and so loud we got a couple of looks from nearby diners. That lunch made me feel, finally, wonderfully, at home — after 10 months in this new town. Honestly, I left the restaurant feeling like a kooky female version of Stuart Smalley who was just so darn happy to have some friends and fit in.

By the way, the birthday cake turned out pretty cute despite the big crack that made it a bit lopsided. I piled some fresh daisies on it, along with a glass dragonfly, and even in bad office lighting on an iPhone camera, it made me proud.

Then, I don’t really talk about work, but . . . I went back to the office after lunch and this thing totally turned out in my favor. It was one of those projects I’ve been workin’, you know for months, and today it all came together. Just like I had hoped (and planned). Always a plus.

And after that, I got a text from Mr. Mom about the mountain. The mountain I don’t talk about. I can’t really go into all the details yet, but today — for the first time in our long and dreadful situation — we caught a break. Things took a turn in our favor. A big ray of hope broke through the dark clouds after four years of legal BS, and I can’t help but be struck by the fact there’s some definite cool karma cooking for it to happen on Leap Day.

Then I went to the salon and enjoyed some wine, and some fruit, and some cheese and crackers, and some great conversation, and a spiffy cut and color job.

And, finally, I came home and ate the last slice of Soda Fountain Ice Cream Pie and watched Idol. And we all know how much I love Idol.

So can you see why it was a wonderful, beautiful, no bad, very good day? I think you can.

With gratitude {for days so totally awesome they require multiple adjectives and make me talk, like, a crazed Valley Girl},

Joan, who hopes your Leap Day was worth gushing over, too

Comments

  1. IrishJenn says:

    Girl, you are ROCKING that dress! Lumpy, dumpy my eye!
    That’s great news about your mountain. Wishing you continued good news in that area.

  2. Maridel says:

    That’s a wonderful, beautiful, no bad, very good, yellow bracelet, too.

  3. What a problem – it is hard to set the order in terms of offering congratulations towards such a list of wonders. (And, with apologies to MS, that is a VERY good thing!).

    Think my first order of Woot! goes to the news about the Mountain Which Shall Not Be Mentioned, (much). Having some/any movement towards a Happy Resolution is so absolutely out of your control (as opposed to you being awesome at your job, baking freaking amazing cakes and choosing beautifully flattering dresses) that it feels more on order of a purely lucky break, potentially turning the tide on that up-til-now consistently disappointing front.

    Second shout out goes to feeling “at home” again. However it happens, whatever it takes, I am deeply grateful you are rocking your new roots (heart style, as opposed to hair style). So this ain’t Mayberry you live in any longer, OK, you are still the marvelous Joan-Marie, no matter where you pick up your mail.

    PS – Maridel has a good eye – that bracelet? It moves me….(yeah, I’ve got “Wild Thing” stuck on repeat in my head this morning. What, that never happens to you?)

  4. Ladies — that awesome bracelet? It cost $7. I wear it at least a couple of times a week and I get scads of compliments every time I wear it. It’s made out of elastic string and plastic, spray painted yellow and gold. I have matching yellow earrings and a scarf. It is all so low-end, yet all so lovely. BTW, M’del, I bought it from a former colleague who left our Tulsa work group for entrepreneurial ventures including an internet accessory company.

  5. Joan, you fabulous thing. Love the dress.

  6. 1. Love the dress. Couldn’t find a lump even thought I looked carefully. I’m a good friend that way.
    2. Looking forward to hearing the inside story. AKA mountain.
    3. We Looooove Idol. Although we can only watch it via internet feed so I’m always a day behind. I’m sweet on Philip and Hey Joon : )
    4. In light of my sugar relapse I had to look away when I saw a glimpse of the cake I’m afraid. But the short peek I took looked lovely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 776 other followers

