Red alert.

Dear friends,

Not me, but I wish.

Source: Pinterest

In contrast to Tuesday, Wednesday was a very good day. (Down, up . . . remember when I said life is a rollercoaster?)

The chief reason for my Wednesday goodness was 90 minutes spent at the salon. New color, new cut, a lip wax, a couple of glasses of wine because my stylist is just that cool, and all is well in my world.

When I got home, Mr. Mom was trying to tell me a story from his day, but I was a little preoccupied with my hair. I was standing in front of the mirror, frankly admiring the color job and inspecting my upper lip, when I interrupted his story and said “But do you like my hair?”

I’m married to a man of vast patience who does not insist, really ever, that his needs come first. And after all these years, he’s used to me interrupting him. So he stopped talking, took a long look at my hair, and finally said. “Yes. I do like it.” (Bing, bing, bing! Give the man a prize for his excellent answer!)

“What about the color?” I said. “It’s redder. Do you like this color?”

“Sure,” he said, in what sounded like a sincere tone. Then he paused for a moment and finally offered, “It doesn’t look all that different to me. I liked it before and I like it now and it doesn’t seem like much of a change.” (Quick quiz for any males reading: Is this a safe answer for a husband?)

I must have given him a funny look (read: not a safe answer) because he quickly responded: “Honestly, honey, I’m probably not the best person to ask. I mean, you’re talking to a man who didn’t even comb his hair today.”

And there you have it. The entire secret of our happy marriage: Yin and Yang.

Well, that and brutal honesty.

With gratitude {for the man, who 27 years earlier called to invite me to dinner and was told no, not tonight, because of an unfortunate encounter with Miss Clairol that resulted in moss green hair, and who was completely, unreservedly undeterred by something as inconsequential as dating a girl with green hair},

Joan, who in her lifetime has been a tall blonde, a tall brunette, a tall redhead, a tall green-headed toad, and is currently sporting a lovely blend of all those shades except green

Comments

  1. I know you want Mr Mom to think and then SAY you look great, but as long as you can’t keep your eyes off yourself in any/every reflective surface? That to me is the surest sign of a successful trip to the salon there can possibly be.

    Do I take your green=toad comment to mean you won’t be dyeing your hair to match your frock for the St. Paddy’s Day bash?

  2. There’s nothing like a day of pampering. I love getting my hair done! Mr. Darcy is not so great at noticing the subtle nuances of my hair. Once he said “you look mod” and in the same breath, “it’s sort of Spock-ish”. The look on my face told him to back track PRONTO. Who wants to look like the guy from Star Trek?!

  3. Doug Fishback says:

    Men just don’t know what to say. My wife has been doing P90X religiously and developing some really good muscle tone. I said she was turning into “a sturdy gal.” Apparently this is not a compliment.

    • Oh, dear Doug! Sturdy is not good. Regardless of what you think, always say lean or lithe or twig-like. You can never go wrong with those words and women want even their muscles to be twig-like. You might get away with sculpted, if you add “but in a really lean way!”

      Sizz — Spock-ish? This post gives us three examples why we should start a blog with daily advice to men about how to talk to their women.

      Deb — As god is my witness (in my best Scarlett voice) I will never have green hair again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 776 other followers

