Because sometimes all you need is a new dress.

Dear Friends,

Lately I’ve been thinking deep thoughts about small things, where deep equals not quite as profound as Jack Handy but introspective nonetheless, and small equals hardly earthshaking in magnitude but certainly consequential in my Plebian life.

And while I think these deep thoughts about simple gifts, and modest pleasures, and sweet treats, and marital kindnesses are key to my little gratitude project, there’s a side of me that’s so much more, shall we say, consumeristic. (Is consumeristic a word or did I just make it up? Note to author-self: when searching for a word that means “prone to gratuitous consumption,” it’s so much easier to rely on your imagination than a thesaurus.)

Will you think less of me if I admit this little number made me mind-bogglingly happy recently?

Isn’t it adorable? And while my figure doesn’t even approximate the model’s, it still looks pretty great even on my middle-aged, lumpy self. Banana Republic wasn’t whistling Dixie when they claimed it was “fit to flatter.” (If it looks good on me, it’s “fit to work miracles.”)

Best of all, I got it on sale.  And shall we just be honest about how happy that makes most girls? Squeeeeeeeeeel!!!!

Cute spring dress + on sale = bye, bye winter doldrums.

With gratitude {for consumeristic math and modest indulgences},

Joan, who believes you can’t buy happiness but you sure can rent it for a while

Comments

  1. That is a super-cute dress, and I bet your tall self looks fab in it!
    If only it didn’t have horizontal stripes…

  2. maridel allinder says:

    It’s a touch of “O, Brother, Where Art Thou” with a dollop of regatta. Perfect!

  3. Retail therapy. Gotta love any purchase that makes you happy to get dressed in the AM.

    Even my library gets in on the You Have Saved! act. Each time I check out a book the amount it costs retail is added in to a running total that is reflected on a little printout showing me my “savings” for reading borrowed books rather heading to my favorite local independent bookseller. I heard a teenager there remarking “it is like they are paying me to read!”… Well kiddo, not quite, but the idea that saving actually promotes spending is genius on the face of it.

  4. Love the dress! Love that you pointed me in the direction of Jack Handy! That got a big haha!

  5. I love that style of dress. So flattering and timeless!

  6. I’ve been eyeballing this one. It is so cute! I’m glad to hear that it is as flattering as they claim.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

